Emergency Management Council Minutes

December 8, 2022

Call to Order

The Emergency Management Council meeting was held on December 8 on Microsoft Teams. It began at 9:04 a.m. and was presided over by **JoAnn Boggs. Sean Putney** recorded the minutes.

Attendees

Primary members in attendance: Andrew Rose, Bill Gillespie, Chandra Fox, Chief Chad Cross, Chief John Batiste, Chief Mike Harris, Chief Scott Engle, Fred Brink, Greg Welch, Jim Pendowski, JoAnn Boggs, John Himmel, Martin Mueller, Nick Henderson, Robert Ezelle.

Alternate members in attendance: Casey Hanell, Dr. Nicole Yarid, Jennifer Bailey, Kyle Bustad, Melissa Gannie, Quyen Thai, Ron Weaver, Arel Solie, Sharon Wallace.

Members not in attendance: Chief Brian Schaeffer, Chief Jasper Bruner, Chief Peter Fisher, Gary Chandler, Gene Strong, Hilary Franz, John O'Rourke, Kirk Holmes, Mike Donlin, Ryan Mumma. Guests in attendance: Adam Wasserman, Angie Lane, Brian George, Brigadier General Daniel Dent, Elizabeth King, Gabe Baez, James Baumgart, Kathryn Zetzer, Kevin Wickersham, Nathan Weed, Nick Henderson, Sandi Duffey, Sean Putney, Sierra Wardell, Stacey McClain, Travis Nichols, Troy Neman, Victoria Fontana, Wesley Chandler.

Approval of Minutes

A motion to approve the October 6, 2022, meeting minutes was made by **Fred Brink**. **Chief John Batiste** seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Open Public Forum

No discussion presented.

Main Motions

Vote on 2023 Meeting Dates

Chandra Fox motioned to approve the 2023 EMC meeting dates as submitted. **Scott Engle** seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Vote on Proposed Seismic Safety Committee Charter

Casey Hanell, DNR, provided an overview of the Seismic Safety Committee Charter. **Fred Brink** motioned to approve the Committee Charter as submitted. **Chief Mike Harris** seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Election: 2023-24 Chair

Chandra Fox from Spokane nominated to serve as EMC Chair by **JoAnn Boggs**. The floor was opened for additional nominations for EMC Chair. No additional nominations were made. 14 members voted in favor; 0 voted against. **Chandra Fox** will serve as the 2023-24 EMC Chair.

Reports

Regional Issues Impacting Washington presented by **Willie Nunn**, Regional Administrator, FEMA RX.

EMD Operational Update presented by **Kevin Wickersham**, EMD.

2022-23 Annual Report Team Recruitment was presented by JoAnn Boggs. 2022-23 Annual Report Team volunteers are: **Andy Rose, Arel Solie, Chandra Fox, Fred Brink, Quyen Thai, Sharon Wallace.**

2023 Strategic Planning Committee Recruitment was presented by **JoAnn Boggs.** 2023 Strategic Planning Committee volunteers are: **Arel Solie, Chandra Fox, Mike Harris, Sandi Duffey, Sharon Wallace.**

Senior Advisory Council Meeting

Lt. Brian George and **Sgt. Ryan Levens, Washington State Fusion Center,** provided an overview of the Fusion Center. Slides attached.

Andy Rose, Washington State Department of Health, provided an update on funding sources around preparedness and response in the public health sector. Slides attached.

Sierra Wardell, EMD, provided an overview of FEMA grants. Slides attached.

Adjournment

JoAnn Boggs adjourned the meeting at 10:27 a.m.